Day Two: Coal, Coal & More Coal

It’s the end of my second day in Colorado, first full day here and it was a busy one. I went from exploring an old coal mine west of Trinidad to eating at a restaurant called Grub Steak, to museum hopping and interviewing in La Veta and Walsenburg. I learned a lot about coal mining today, and got to catch a glimpse into the lives of 18th Century miners in general. I ended the day by nearly getting blown away by high winds at Pueblo Lake State Park (a theme of mine, for those familiar with my camping exploits) and moving to a less-dangerous location inside the park.

After a trip into town for parts and supplies (like tent stakes and a big rubber mallet), I’m now settling down for the night. Tomorrow, my first Sunday to miss of 2011, will be spent in and around Canon City, Colorado Springs, and Cripple Creek. There’s a nice state park off Hwy 24 I’m looking forward to visiting.

To close, here’s a pic from today. God bless!

20110731-123034.jpg

