Is 4.16% Really a Savings?

Scattershooting while pondering whether or not I truly benefited from daylight savings time…

OK, so I figure now that Daylight Savings Time is like a government tax rebate. You get an extra hour of daylight in the spring, enjoy it for a summer, then have it taken back in the fall. Besides, it’s not really “daylight savings” now, is it? Isn’t there an extra hour of daylight? So by my reasoning, the daylight is actually being taken advantage of and the nighttime is really being saved. Raw deal for the sun, I say!

Mathematically, Daylight Savings Time qualifies as a saving, to be sure, but how much are we saving? 4.16 percent. That’s one hour out of 24. So we save on daylight only half of what we pay for sales tax. That’s, like, four cents on every dollar. Am I over-thinking this a little?

Say, did you set your clock back an hour on Saturday night? Every fall I take a deep breath in the assurance that I’ll get an extra hour of sleep and then… I end up staying up an hour later. It never fails. I’d almost rather someone NOT tell me I have an extra hour and then wake up the next morning to find out I have an extra hour. Works better for me that way. How about you? It’s like telling someone they have an extra $200 in the bank account that month so they go to the grocery store and buy the Glad trash bags instead of the Great Value kind. Pretty soon the extra cash is gone and we’re left wondering, “Where did it go?” Not as though I’m speaking from experience or anything…

But, alas, it’s now getting dark at 4pm and the extra daylight will have to take a breather until March. That’s a good thing, I figure. Daylight will need that extra energy for the next time we tell consider it saved.

 

2 thoughts on “Is 4.16% Really a Savings?

  1. Turning the clocks back is the ultimate recipe for depression. Go to work when it’s still dark, get out of work and it’s dark already.

    • It sure stinks, doesn’t it? I live fairly far south in the US, so I imagine its dozens of times worse for those up north, say Minnesota, Wisconsin, New England or Canada. Artificial light becomes a person’s new best friend during winter.

Comments are closed.