Of Temporal and Froward Thoughts

Scattershooting from an Arby’s booth on the first day of December while trying to figure out whether or not I have the strength to drive home…

I’m thinking…

  • That time is a fickle thing. Can you believe it’s December? Man, oh man. Twenty-four more days until Christmas. Man, oh man. You blink and another year has passed. When I was a kid time never seemed to move fast enough. When I was a 20-something it seemed to move just right. Now that I’m a few weeks away from 35, time seems to be moving faster.
  • That there is a big difference between being cautious and being stubborn. One can be a virtue, the other a vice. But caution can be a vice, as well, if it keeps a problem unsolved, a person waiting for an answer, or progress from happening. But sometimes people can be just plain stubborn and cause great damage. They don’t understand this, which is sad, until it’s too late (stubborn people rarely can see their own stubbornity).
  • That mystery is necessary for faith. A faith that has all the answers is not faith, it’s knowledge. After all, faith is a leap into uncertainty while holding the hand of experience. Last night at a Christmas party Lorraine, a wonderful lady in my church, read from an old hymn, “I know not why God’s wondrous grace To me He hath made known, Nor why, unworthy, Christ in love Redeemed me for His own. But I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I’ve committed unto him against that day.” I love those words. I know not why, I know not how (the mystery) but I know whom (experience).
  • That most burdens are very hard to bear. I have a friend who works as a counselor and every now and then I check in on him to see how he’s doing. Over the past few years I’ve noticed that he has become increasingly weighed down and troubled after counseling sessions. As the economy has gone south, people’s problems have gone north and what once were small issues now are splitting families. My friend keeps a packed schedule of people’s problems and many times he simply cannot help them. It’s hard. And my heart hurts for him. His job is to counsel but even counselors are affected by burdens. I wish there was someplace counselors could go to unwind and unpack. Because too many burdens can easily break a back.

I’d better go home how.

