Living in an Upside Down World

One night a few weeks ago I had a most terrifying dream. I was driving a car, probably a SUV, when the car suddenly ran into a flash flood crossing the road. The dream got even more bizarre when the flash flood turned out to be a lake. Then it got downright scary when my car started sinking with me inside it. As it filled with water I got very confused.

aqua man 6You see, I live with this balance disorder called Meniere’s Disease, and suddenly I couldn’t tell which way was up and which way was down! As the car filled with water, every way I went was the wrong way. I was turned all upside down!

Thankfully, I woke up and realized that the nightmare was but a fiction of my mind! I was a bit shaken by the dream, to say the least. But I think it serves as an illustration of how easily we can lose sight of what is up and what is down and end up believing the opposite is the truth!

glass-glassball-globe-14282622-oI think our society here in America has a balance disorder. We think what is right is wrong and we uphold what is wrong as right. Now, the U.S. of A. is not alone. England and Scotland are going through the same thing. France has already been there, as has most of Europe.

We’re under water and don’t know which way is up and which way is down!

What brought this subject to my mind were the repeated attempts by Yahoo! News to keep Bruce Jenner’s saga on top of the headlines (I refuse to call him by his desired name). Just yesterday I saw this headline, “… Jenner makes first talk show appearance on Ellen.” Of course, the North American world is captivated by this former Olympic male athlete’s public desire to be a woman. Jenner is all over the headlines. Every pop culture magazine has done a feature on him. He even has his own reality show.

It confuses me to no end to see our country so interested in a man who doesn’t want to be a man. He was even given the ESPY for courage at this summer’s ESPN awards show. Courage? Sure, making public your not-so-normal gender desire takes guts but to give him an award for courage?

Screen Shot 2015-09-11 at 9.51.01 AM

What ever happened to men are men and women are women and each were made for the other?

The youth of the Western World have never been more confused about gender issues than they are right now. They are being taught that there isn’t just male and female, but instead there is anything that you want to be — and that it is all OK. In fact, to say anything else except that it is OK is hateful and will get you suspended, banished, shamed and probably blacklisted (those are probably all the same thing but I kinda got on a roll there…).

Interestingly, today I filled out a survey online in which the personal classification part included not two gender options (male and female) but five. FIVE! Ummm… we have five genders?

This is part of the upside down nature of this world. We celebrate those who wish to change the way God made things. We uphold those who seek to corrupt His ways. We even support potential political leaders who trample on the righteous while promoting their own names!

But you know what? God has given the world the answer to the upside… err… downiness. Jesus did not leave the world without witness to the right-side-up solution. Read His prayer to God the Father on behalf of His followers in John 17:

“I have given them Your word. The world hated them because they are not of the world, as I am not of the world. I am not praying that You take them out of the world but that You protect them from the evil one. They are not of the world, as I am not of the world.
Sanctify them by the truth; Your word is truth.
As You sent Me into the world, I also have sent them into the world.
I sanctify Myself for them, so they also may be sanctified by the truth.”
(John 17:14-19)

Jesus left the Church in this world to show the truth to the world. To show it the right-side-up path of life. To reveal to the world what is just and right and true, and worthy of being uplifted.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe Church’s traditional teachings and doctrines seem upside down when you compare them to the world’s philosophies. But the reality is that the world’s philosophies are upside down when compared to the way God made the world! He is the giver of truth and we have His word, the Bible, to compare the philosophies of this world against.

His word is right-side-up. The Holy Spirit always supports the right-side-up and so should you and I. It is up to us to show the world the way out of the sinking SUV and lead people towards the daylight above. Are you up to the task?

Be God’s!

